Press release 16 Jan 2017

-Cork ETB School, Coláiste Treasa Kanturk, Wins Best School Award- 

Colàiste Treasa Secondary School, BT Young Scientist 2017 celebrations, at Colàiste Treasa Secondary School, Kanturk, Co. Cork.
BT Young Scientist 2017 , Best school in the Republic of Ireland. (Front Row) Colàiste Treasa Award Winning students, Isobel Hynes, Jack Murphy, Michael Sheehan, Maeve O’Connor, Aoidhe Sheill, Conleth Aspel, (Back Row) Principal John Murphy, Cllr Bernard Moynihan, Chairman BOM, Triona Murphy and Nuala Riordan, both with IRD Duhallow, Deputy Principal Veronica Walsh, Cllr John Paul O’Shea and Michael Moynihan TD, BOM.
Picture: Jim Coughlan.

Cork Education and Training Board is today celebrating the extraordinary success of its more than 70 students who submitted projects for the 2017 BT Young Scientist & Technologist of the Year competition. CETB Schools which participated included; Coláiste Treasa, Kanturk, Coláiste Choilm, Ballincollig, Carrigtwohill Community College, Schull Community College, Clonakilty Community College, Davis College, Mallow, Coláiste Daibhéid, Cork City and Coláiste Pobail Bheanntraí. Projects undertaken by students were diverse in topic and ranged from; ‘Design and Development of a Home Security Robot’ by Colm Brennan and Dylan O Mahony in Clonakilty Community College, to ‘An investigation into whether diluting disinfectants can be selective for increased bacterial resistance’ by Emma Grimes and Alice Bogue from Carrigtwohill Community College, to name but a few.

Special congratulations are extended to Coláiste Treasa, Kanturk who were awarded Best School in the Republic of Ireland in recognition of their numerous student winners across various categories. Leading the posse were Michael Sheehan and Jack Murphy, both 4th year students of Coláiste Treasa, who won the Best Group award, and were overall runners-up for their project entitled ‘Prey availability for hen harriers in managed farmland’. The dynamic duo was also awarded a coveted special award from the Environmental Protection Agency, which is awarded for the best environmental project, which demonstrates a contribution to the protection and improvement of the environment. 

First year student Isobel Hynes achieved 2nd place in the junior individual ‘Social and Behavioural Sciences’ category for her project entitled ‘A statistical analysis of asthma awareness in Ireland’, with Transition Year student Conleth Aspel coming third in the intermediate category with his project ‘An investigation of the association between parenting style, well-being and academic success among teenagers’. Finally, 2nd Year students Maeve O’Connor and Aoidhe Shiell were awarded group first place in the same category for their project ‘Fresh air, Friend or Foe?’, which involved the development of an app to combat rural seclusion among the Irish farming community. This pair was also presented with a special award, the Hewlett Packard Innovation4Good Award. This award was granted to the project which identified a specific community need in health, education, or the environment and either adapted an existing commercial solution or created an entirely new solution to address the societal challenge. Maeve and Aoidhe were required to demonstrate how technology was part of their project solution. All the students together with their teachers were welcomed home to Cork with a celebratory reception in their school. 

Commenting on the outstanding success Chief Executive of Cork ETB, Ted Owens proudly said “We are delighted that all the research and effort that goes into submitting a project to the BT Young Scientist competition has resulted in the rewarding experience of getting to exhibit at the R.D.S for so many of our students.  I would like to extend a huge well done and congratulations to all the Cork ETB schools who brought home these fantastic accolades, and in particular the Coláiste Treasa students and their teachers. It is wonderful to see such a strong interest in a broad spectrum of science subjects being embraced by the students, and we are so proud of everyone who took part, including the hard-working teachers who guide and mentor the students with their chosen projects.”

BT Young Scientist 2017


BT Young Scientist 2017

Huge congratulations to Michael Sheehan, Jack murphy, Conleth Aspel, Maeve O’ Connor, Aoidhe Shiell, Isobel Hynes and Teacher Derry O’ Donovan on their fantastic achievements at the BT Young Scientist 2017.

What an incredible few days for everybody involved,  overall runner up and 6 other prizes including ‘The best school in the Republic of Ireland award’ 

This recognition was just reward for Derry O’Donovan and his ‘dream Team’ of young scientist who have worked tirelessly for the past 12 months on their various projects.

Congratulations also to  the families of the students involved, without their support and encouragement  none of this would be possible.

The following is a list of the students and their projects, checkout the ‘Gallery for more photos’!


Colaiste Treasa Cork 

Overall runner up (Best Group) & Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) award:

Michael Sheehan, Jack Murphy Coláiste Treasa, Cork

Prey availability for hen harriers in managed farmland Biological and Ecological 


Social and Behavioural Sciences

1st place Junior group & Hewlett Packard “Innovation4Good” Award :

Maeve O’Connor & Aoidhe Sheill Coláiste Treasa, Cork

Fresh air, Friend or Foe? The development of an app to combat rural seclusion among the Irish farming community. 

Social & Behavioural Sciences

2nd place Junior individual

Isobel Hynes

Colaiste Treasa Cork

A statistical analysis of asthma awareness in Ireland.

Social & Behavioural Sciences

3rd place intermediate individual:

Conleth Aspel

Colaiste Treasa, Cork 

Infantilisation of Youth: A study of the association between infantilisation of teenagers and mental well-being in later life.